Alone

Sitting alone outside the veranda
Smoking, watching the raindrops fall
thought about why after all these years
You came back into my life.

Then in a moment you disappear from my life,
Thinking why after all those years
I never really thought about you,
Except for that one day.

And in an instant you were back in my life
Then in a jiffy you were gone.

Got me thinking..
Have I been really injured in my past?
That because of the wounds in my heart
I’ve become numb and pushed you away.

I haven’t felt this way in years and
As I watched the raindrops fall
I felt a familiar sensation.

I realized I’m missing you
That I’m actually in-love…
I was petrfiried to get hurt once more
I ended up hurting and forced you away.

Now I’m wondering will
Things ever be the same..
Will I ever see you again,
Hold you back in my arms,
There’s no way of knowing
Except time…

Written by Anj Atutubo 06/16/2009

Drop a message!

