Like the Wind

I thought I was over you,
Thought I’ve moved on…
To my astonishment,
I realized that I was still
hanging on to something we had.


We’ve gone our separate ways
Had built boundaries and our own lives

It’s been a long time since you’ve
walked away in silence from my life.

Now you just pass by me like the wind
Thought I’d be happy for you
When you found someone else…

I was wrong,
I felt hurt and betrayed,
Then again I no longer
have the right to be resentful.

Now I’m left here all alone
Since you trudged away from my life.
You just pass by me
As if I’m invisible just like the wind.

Only memories of you remain with me.

Written by Anj Atutubo 04/15/2009

Drop a message!

